Transforming the patient experience with telehealth in Europe

Wales (UK)

Hywel Dda Health Board

Wales Logo 


Hywel Dda University Health Board became fully operational in October 2009 following the NHS Reform Programme 2008-2009, which introduced integrated health care for Wales. We are responsible for the health and well-being of our population across three counties – Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire. We cover a quarter of the landmass in Wales, but with a relatively small population of 375,061 people. The age structure of our population is different to most of Wales with lower proportions aged 0-4 years and 20-44 years but higher proportions aged 50 years and over.

Our acute and community services are currently delivered through:

• Four Acute Hospitals; Bronglais Hospital in Aberystwyth, Glangwili Hospital in Carmarthen, Prince Philip Hospital in Llanelli and Withybush Hospital in Haverfordwest;

• Seven Community Hospitals; and

• Eleven Health Centres.

These are all delivered in partnership with three Local Authorities, the Third Sector and the Independent Sector.

We also provide a range of services for the residents of South Gwynedd and Powys.

There are numerous locations and settings across our three counties from which Mental Health, Learning Disabilities, and related services are provided.

Primary Care Services are delivered by:

• 56 GP Practices (main sites);

• 67 Dental Practices (49 dental contracts);

• 99 Community Pharmacies; and

• 52 Optometry Premises.


NHS Wales –

 To read the Partner Showcase published October 2014 please click here

Back to Partners page